CofC Logo

Magnetic South

Concerts of new compositions and contemporary masterworks


Magnetic South presents musical masterpieces of the 20th century and also commissions and premieres new work. This year-round series exposes the College's students and the local community to unique, contemporary classical music. Co-founded by Edward HartYiorgos Vassilandonakis, and Yuriy Bekker, Magnetic South is a collaborative project between the College of Charleston Department of Music and the Charleston Symphony Orchestra.

Charleston Symphony Orchestra | Conductors: Ken Lam and Yiorgos Vassilandonakis | Concertmaster: Yuriy Bekker

April 7, 2017, 7:30 PM 

Ken Lam and Yiorgos Vassilandonakis, Conductors

Kurt Rohde
World Premiere, Magnetic South Commission

Mario Davidovsky
Divertimento No. 8: Ambiguous Symmetries

Magnetic South Call for Scores Winner

John Allemeier
Deep Water

Time, Venue and Tickets

  • Concert: 7:30 pm 
  • Cathedral of St. Luke and St. Paul - 126 Coming Street 
  • $25.00 general admission | $10 for all students with valid ID.
  • Purchase tickets by calling (843) 723-7528 ext. 110 or by visiting the Charleston Symphony Orchestra website. Tickets will also be available at the door the night of the performance.

Support Magnetic South

2015-2016 Supporters

Dock Street Communities
Herzman-Fishman Fund
Dr. Jonathan A. Neufeld
Ms. Mildred O'Brien

Your gift is tax deductible and supports excellence in the arts and educational opportunities for students. There are many ways to give to Magnetic South with benefits and privileges available to you in thanks for your generosity. Please contact us to learn more.

Mail:  Send your check made to "Composers Fund" to: Attn: Tiffany Gammell, Music Department, College of Charleston, 66 George St., Charleston, SC 29424

Credit Card:  Make your gift here (In "Designation" select "Other" and in "Other" enter "Composers Fund - R551")

Contact us

CofC Concerts: 843.953.6575 | Charleston Symphony Orchestra: 843.723.7528

*Photo by Christy Mae King

Social Media