Magnetic South

Concerts of new compositions and contemporary masterworks


Magnetic South presents musical masterpieces of the 20th century and also commissions and premieres new work. This year-round series exposes the College's students and the local community to unique, contemporary classical music. Co-founded by Edward HartYiorgos Vassilandonakis, and Yuriy Bekker, Magnetic South is a collaborative project between the College of Charleston Department of Music and the Charleston Symphony.

Charleston Symphony Orchestra | Conductors: Ken Lam and Yiorgos Vassilandonakis | Concertmaster: Yuriy Bekker

Ligeti, Berio and McMillan

Thu | Feb. 20, 2020

This program showcases the Charleston Symphony’s wind and brass musicians, featuring two iconic contemporary music works: György Ligeti’s Ten Pieces for Wind Quintet, and Luciano Berio’s Trombone Sequenza, as well as a duet for two oboes by Jeffrey Rathbun. Also on the program: James MacMillan’s colorful ensemble piece others see us...

Time, Venue and Tickets

  • Concert: 7:30 pm 
  • Recital Hall, Simons Center for the Arts
  • Special ticket price of $10.
  • Purchase tickets by calling (843) 723-7528 ext. 110 or by visiting the Charleston Symphony website. Tickets will also be available at the door the night of the performance.

Support Magnetic South

2019-2020 Supporters

Mrs. Carol H. Fishman

Herzman-Fishman Fund

Your gift is tax deductible and supports excellence in the arts and educational opportunities for students. Please contact us to learn more.

Mail:  Send your check made to "Composers Fund" to: Attn: Tiffany Gammell, Music Department, College of Charleston, 66 George St., Charleston, SC 29424

Credit Card:  Make your gift here (In "Designation" select "Other" and in "Other" enter "Composers Fund - R551")

Contact us

CofC Concerts: 843.953.6315 | Charleston Symphony Orchestra: 843.723.7528

*Photo by Christy Mae King

Social Media